What's On

Thursday 01 November 2018 at 8pm

Autumn Sessions

Join us in the "wee room" for a cosy night of songs, tunes and craic as the autumn days draw darker and colder. Of course, there is also the famous Falkirk Folk Club raffle so come along and try your luck!

Free (donations welcome)

Thursday 08 November 2018 at 8pm

Autumn sessions

Come along to the wee room to perform or just to listen and join in the craic. Always a great night with a fantastic variety of songs and tunes.

Picture: Roy Wood, born on this day in 1947

Free (donations welcome)

Thursday 15 November 2018 at 8pm

Steve Dan Mills

Falkirk Folk Club is delighted to welcome American singer songwriter Steve Dan Mills.

Steve was the co-founder of Speed Limit 35, one of the first folk rock bands in the American South. He has been enjoying a solo career since the mid 70's performing at many festivals as well as the UK's top folk and acoustic clubs. 

Steve's songs have been recorded by major artists such as Neal Coty, Mel MacDaniel and Benita Hill.Guitar virtuoso Tommy Emmanuel has been covering the title cut from this CD, "Inside Out Lookin' In".  His music has been described as "the real thing, sensitive, moving, cathartic and healing." He couples his very powerful vocals with acoustic guitar and harmonica. His masterful story telling, based on his rich and challenging life experiences, lays the groundwork for each song in a most engaging manner. He elicits tears and laughter and instills hope in his audience.

Reserve your seat now by contacting

£7 (£5 members)

Thursday 22 November 2018 at 8pm

Alan Reid

Falkirk Folk Club is honoured to welcome Alan Reid as our last guest of 2018. Alan was an ever-present member of Battlefield Band from 1969-2010 when, after four decades, he decided that it was time to bow out, in order to develop his writing and to follow other musical paths and partnerships. 

The 'Batties' have been pre-eminent in Scottish traditional music for over 30 years. They have toured all over the world, made over 20 recordings and worked with such diverse artists as Garrison Keillor, Van Morrison and Mike Oldfield. Their albums have won awards in Germany, Britain and the U.S. Throughout this time, Alan has been at the 'engine room' of the band, his keyboards underpinning the bagpipes and the fiddle. Alan was the first to use keyboards as an integral part of a traditional folk band and the depth of his melodic playing and punctuated rhythms have so defined Celtic music that his, and Battlefield Band's influence can be heard in many of today's younger generation of Celtic musicians.

Alan is also a gifted singer and songwriter, his solo and harmony singing have been to the fore throughout Battlefield Band's history. His songs have been a feature of the band's repertoire since the early 80's and have been noted for their story telling element, lyricism and their strong melody. In 1998 his first solo album 'The Sunlit Eye' featuring new songs, original tunes and two of his favourite Burns' songs was released. His song and tune book 'Martyrs, Rogues and Worthies' was released early in 2001.

Reserve your seat now by contacting

£7 (£5 members)

Thursday 31 January 2019 at 8pm

The Local Honeys

All the way from Kentucky and visiting Falkirk Folk Club for the first time we are excited to welcome The Local Honeys as our 'first foot' act for 2019.

From the rolling hills of the Bluegrass and the foothills of the Appalachians, Montana Hobbs and Linda Jean Stokley are two exceptionally talented young women who will be bringing the folk music of Kentucky to the 'wee room'.  Having been the first women to graduate their state university’s degree programme in Traditional ‘Hillbilly’ Music, The Local Honeys have gone on to win various songwriting accolades, among them the ‘Chris Austin Songwriting Award’ from MerleFest. Their debut album ‘Little Girls Actin’ Like Men’ includes both traditional and original songs and showcases the Honeys ability to tear into hard-driving fiddle tunes, sing the high lonesome sound and tell a damn good story.

£7 (£5 members)